What if…?

The conditional sentences are back for revision purposes but perhaps we could learn a few mores advanced uses.

As for the traditional types you could  refresh your knowledge by clicking here

And for the more sophisticated types

1.-If with would and should for polite purposes

If you wouldn´t mind waiting for a moment, the doctor will see you shortly

Should you want to contact me, I will be in the office from 9 till 5 (More common in        written English)

2.-There are also rhetorical conditional sentences which need to be interpreted as they mean the opposite of their literal meanings

If you believe that, you´ll believe anything (you can´t believe that)

She is nothing if not tough ( She is really tough)

If they are Irish, I am the Pope (they are certainly not Irish)

3.-If formulas for expresing politeness, ideal in oral exams

If you don´t mind me saying so,……

If I may interrupt …

If I may change  the subject…

If you can keep a secret…

If you see what I mean…

If I understand you correctly…

There is a very popular BBC Radio 4 programme Desert Island Discs in which famous guests are asked which 8 music records, which book and which luxury they would take if they were cast away in a desert island. It has had some very famous guests and it has proven a very popular programme. You can listen to the most recent programmes from their webpage

So popular it has become that you can buy  a compilation CD with famous castaways choices.

Now it is your turn to answer to choose. If you were cast away in a desert island, which 8 pieces of music, one book and one luxury would you take?

  1. MONTSE
    May 19, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    If I were cast away in a desert island, I would probably take on one hand four pieces of dancing music and four pieces of music to relaxing my mind, on the other hand I would take a survival’s book and definitely I would take my toothpaste.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

