Home > Oral Presentations > Oral Presentation: A Personal Experience

Oral Presentation: A Personal Experience

By Anna ALbeza

I’m not giving a formal speech about any topic.

I’d like to share with you a personal experience I had time ago and, at the end of my account, I‘ll be eager to listen to your opinions, comments, your pieces of advice…

Well, to start with, what I’m going to do is to introduce the vocabulary and any detail you could need to follow my story.

LET’S GET STARTED WITH THE INTRODUCTION

As everybody here knows, I’m a Maths teacher at a state High School.

The first thing is to clarify which the stages a person has to pass through in order to become a teacher at a High School are.

Firstly, you graduate in any subject that’s being taught at Schools; for instance, you can complete a bachelor’s degree in Art, in Science, in Engineering, etcetera. In my case, I studied Mathematics.

Once you‘ve got it, you are A GRADUATE, however, this doesn’t mean you are a teacher. At this point, you cannot work as a teacher for any private or state school, because you are not considered a teacher, not yet. For this purpose, you have to take a one-year course, it’s called PGCE.

For those of you who haven’t got any idea about the educational world, PGCE stands for Postgraduate Certificate in Education’. PGCE qualifies as a teacher. PGCE qualifies you to teach.

The PGCE is divided into two parts:

-one part is the theoretical courses at the University you have to attend to and complete successfully.

-and, the second part is a practical training at any High School for a term under the guidance of an experienced tutor (if lucky) who will supervise and assess the PGCE’s pupil’s work and give them the final mark on this part.

The point is, in order to tutor PGCE’s students in their practical training, the teachers who already work at any High School voluntarily sign up and add their name to a list by the end of the first term.

I repeat, before Christmas holidays, the teachers voluntarily sign up and give all the details about themselves, name, identity card number, address, the name of the High School and so on.

THIS IS THE END OF THE INTRODUCTION AND NOW IS WHEN MY STORY STARTS.

One day, one colleague of mine in my High School asked me if I would join the teacher’s list to tutor a PGCE’s student. From now on, I will refer to her as Susan.

Susan, my colleague, told me that she was so interested in me joining that list, because she knew a PGCE’s students in maths who was the daughter of a very close friend of hers. As the student lived near the School, she was very motivated and interested in doing the practical training in our School. Of course, she knew she needed a maths teacher from our School on the list.

Susan insisted several times on the idea of me joining the list but… at that time, I was very busy, time went over and I didn’t do anything to join that list and I completely forgot the matter.

What a surprise I had when, just coming back from Christmas holidays, one day, a girl addressed me as my PGCE’ s student. I couldn’t believe it, it was impossible. Even today I can clearly remember which my first questions were, ‘Are you sure I’ m your tutor?’ ‘Yes I ‘m, here I’ve got the document with your name on it’ she answered. My second question was, ‘Is my identity card number in it ? ‘Yes, it is’ she said showing me the fact sheet.

At that moment, I didn’t pay enough attention to the situation and I didn’t figure out what could have happened, I supposed it was a mix-up. Somewhere, someone had made a mistake, although it was very strange that they also got my identity card number. Consequently, I accepted the student as my PGCE’s student and I didn’t do anything to find out more about it.

The second term went over, the student passed the practical training but…as the experience  didn’t pay off, I decided that I didn’t want to continue on that list and I phoned the person in charge on these courses so that he would delete my name from the list.

Once he had deleted my name, as the circumstances had made me curious, I couldn’t shun to ask how on earth I had joined that famous list because I hadn’t done anything to be in. He checked the information and answered that I had joined the list by sending an email and ‘Yes, my identity card number was written in it’. I put down the telephone, but I was shocked.

Can you imagine who had sent the email for me, who had given all the details about myself _name, identity card number, address, the name of the High School?

How should I have reacted when confronting this fact?

How would you have reacted if you had been in my shoes?

Categories: Oral Presentations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

